revtc

Trying to think about life and how God makes it full

The Modern Abolitionists

Martin Wroe, a writer (and mate from theological college) has written an excellent article  here in The TimesOnline about modern day slavery, sex-trafficking, and the new abolitionists. Here’s a snippet:

“Fancy it?” asks one, a pair of long legs in fishnet stockings and suspenders lassoing male eyes. The small print was less beguiling: “Knowing that I was trafficked into London, sold to a brothel, put to work to pay off my ‘debt’, told they will beat me if I try to escape and that you’re one of 30 men I’ll have to service today. The truth isn’t sexy.”

You can aso click on the Truth Isn’t Sexy and Stop the Traffik logos on the sidebar for more info.

April 2, 2007 Posted by | culture, people trafficking | Leave a comment